The presidency of the Council rotates among the EU member states every 6 months. During this 6-month period, the presidency chairs meetings at every level in the Council, helping to ensure the continuity of the EU's work in the Council. The priorities of the Romanian Presidency are driven by this motto: cohesion, a common European value, understood as unity, equal treatment and convergence.

The presidency programme focuses on four main priorities: Europe of convergence, a safer Europe, Europe as a strong global actor and Europe of common values.

The presidency will also host a Summit in Sibiu on Europe Day, which will steer the debate on the future of Europe. It is the first time that Romania holds the Council rotating presidency.

Member states holding the presidency work together closely in groups of three, called 'trios'. This system was introduced by the Lisbon Treaty in 2009. The trio sets long-term goals and prepares a common agenda determining the topics and major issues that will be addressed by the Council over an 18 month period. On the basis of this programme, each of the three countries prepares its own more detailed 6-month programme.

The current trio is made up of the presidencies of the Romania, Finland and Croatia.